Taiwanese American Heritage Week

This week is Taiwanese American Heritage Week. My friend Welly Yang, the artistic director of theater company Second Generation, once told Newsweek what being "Taiwanese American" meant to him.

I wanted [to premiere the musical version of The Wedding Banquet] in Taiwan […]. The story is about a Taiwanese-American in New York. Ang Lee is Taiwanese. Although I was born in this country, my parents are from Taiwan. Taiwan has always been the underdog in the world. They were occupied by Portuguese, Japanese, Dutch. China won’t let them become a member of the United Nations. There are missile threats every other day. I guess I wanted to raise Taiwan’s status. Something in my American side makes me root for the underdog.

Leave a Reply

Taiwanese American Heritage Week

This week is Taiwanese American Heritage Week. My friend Welly Yang, the artistic director of theater company Second Generation, once told Newsweek what being "Taiwanese American" meant to him.

I wanted [to premiere the musical version of The Wedding Banquet] in Taiwan […]. The story is about a Taiwanese-American in New York. Ang Lee is Taiwanese. Although I was born in this country, my parents are from Taiwan. Taiwan has always been the underdog in the world. They were occupied by Portuguese, Japanese, Dutch. China won’t let them become a member of the United Nations. There are missile threats every other day. I guess I wanted to raise Taiwan’s status. Something in my American side makes me root for the underdog.

Leave a Reply

