A Pocketful of Film

In a SportsShooter.com column, Robert Hanashiro asks: "Don’t you miss the days when we went to a game with just a Nikkormat, a 105 and a pocketful of Tri-X?" As an amateur photographer, that’s the way I felt this past week covering the NIT finals and semi-finals for a University of South Carolina (USC)  fanzine. The last time I covered college basketball was more than 15 years ago, when I only had a 50mm lens and Tri-X; standing next to the Sports Illustrated photographer and his long lenses gave me a chuckle. I also remember being on the floor when a brawl broke out between Louisville and USC.

My equipment was not far better this week, especially during Tuesday’s semi-finals game (although I have finally turned digital). It is good to work on assignments where the lighting conditions are more challenging. I learned my lesson and had a "faster" lens for Thursday’s finals, where I got to see my alma mater take home its first banner in many years.

Look for Robert’s photo series of the Utah State women’s basketball team for USA Today.

Technorati Tag(s) – , , , pictures, .

Leave a Reply

