Books to Burn and a Deserted Island

This is quite funny. Writer friend Jai Claire has passed me the "stick" on a parlor-game type chain letter. Let me tackle the questions.

1. You’re stuck inside Fahrenheit 451, what book would you like to be?
Looks like you can buy an inflammable ("gag’) book from the magic
stores, but failing that, probably an ebook. Let Guy Montag and his
keorsene try to burn that!

2. Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character.

Of
course, wouldn’t you pick Buttercup from William Goldman’s The Princess Bride? Because, as Goldman says,
she is the most beautiful woman in the world (although she cannot tell
the difference between her beloved Wesley and the Dread Pirate Roberts).

3. The last book you read.
Candian short story writer
Alice Munro’s Runaway, because it was in the collection left by other
travelers in the library of our hotel in Sorrento during our recent trip to Italy. Unfortunately, my Canadian wife was not that impressed by my attempt to get smarter on her national literature.

4. What are you currently reading?
I am yet another person who dips in and out of several books at a time. Continuing the Italian theme, Italo Svevo’s Confessions of Zeno and D.H. Lawrence’s Twilight in Italy.
Flow (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi) and Food for Fitness (Chris Carmichael,
trainer to cyclist Lance Armstrong). Gödel, Escher, Bach (Douglas
Hofstadter).

5. Five books you would take to a deserted island.
The first four books for sustenance of the soul: Shakespeare’s
Complete Works, Cao Xueqin’s The Story of the Stone (aka The Dream of
Red Chambers),  Dylan Thomas’ Collected Poems and J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. And since I would be on a deserted island, the SAS Survival Guide.

6. Who are you going to pass the stick to (3 persons) and why?
This is the toughest question. Since I cannot pass this back to Jai… let me try to pass this to Daphne Buter, Mark Sarvas and Paul Toth, because their answers should be interesting. (I would have named Michael Standaert, but he is on his honeymoon and his head is high in the clouds.)

Technorati Tag(s): , .

2 responses to “Books to Burn and a Deserted Island

  1. Nice list Wayne. Twilight in Italy is lovely. How you getting on with it?

    I tried reading the Hoftstadter once.. hard going!

  2. Hey I just came across this, Wayne.

    1. Fahrenheit 451. I haven’t read it, so it would be good to know what is burning me up.

    2. Becky Thatcher from The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. I actually think I had a crush on a real girl while reading this and transfered her likeness to BT.

    3. Making an Exit by Elinoir Fuchs for a review.

    4. Rising Up and Rising Down by William T. Vollmann, volume I. And a lot of other things, but not as much as I’d like.

    5. Cervantes Don Quixote (I bought the new translation last year but haven’t had time to get into it too far); the best dictionary I can grab off the ship before it sinks so I can write another five to add to these; I like the Shakespeare’s complete works idea, since I’ve not read as much of him as I should have, so I’ll second that notion; Homer’s The Odyssey (to inspire me, perhaps, towards getting off my desert isle); and Edward Gibbon’s Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire as this would probably be the only time I’d have a chance to read it (or maybe after Vollmann’s?).

    6. I don’t pass on chain letters. I’ve known people to get violent from this.

Leave a Reply

