The Name that Can be Named?

When I was thinking about what to call this blog, I considered what topics I wanted to cover. I wanted to be able to write about finance and the markets (I once had a web site called financeprofessional.com, now archived at financeprofessional.org, which used to draw more than 200 visitors per day); technology and venture capital, and literature and books.  I also wanted to ideally relate everything to an interest in Asia.

The perfect name came to me. I Ching (Yi Jing), the Book of Changes. The Book of Changes is a book of cosmology and philosophy dating back to China’s Shang and Zhou dynasties. What better for a blog (that will helpfully be) about futurology–with the occasional entry about literature–than the book of changes? Of course, like all good (domain) names, however, it was already taken.

So what to call it? After thinking about it some more, and reading
through some texts on the I Ching, I came across the idea of naming the
blog Eight Diagrams, after the eight trigrams from the I Ching, which,
when formed into circular diagram is known as Pa Kua (Ba Gua). Each of the
trigrams can represent certain things, for instance, the directions
or the elements. Which gives a blogger a lot of play, don’t you think? And the fact that the eight trigrams have been incorporated into the martial arts and as symbols in Sun Tzu‘s The Art of War makes picking the name even more fun.

Leave a Reply

